INSTRUCTIONS FOR FILING A COMPLAINT FOR REVIEW OF ASSESSMENT

- You are encouraged to file your Complaint for Review of Assessment online at https://stc.mo.gov. The decision letter from the Board of Equalization must be uploaded at the time you file the appeal.
- If you cannot file your appeal online, you may file your Complaint for Review of Assessment and the decision letter from the Board of Equalization via email to Legal@stc.mo.gov.
- If you cannot file your appeal via email, you may print and complete your Complaint for Review of Assessment and send it along with a copy of the decision letter from the Board of Equalization to State Tax Commission of Missouri, P.O. Box 146, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0146.
- You must complete a separate Complaint for Review of Assessment for each parcel of real property or each account number of personal/manufacturers property you are appealing.
- Print or type the requested information in each section, subsection, and box.
- Keep a copy of your completed Complaint for Review of Assessment and a copy of the decision letter from the Board of Equalization along with any confirmation of receipt from the State Tax Commission (electronic or hardcopy) for your records.

Please note:

The STC utilizes technology, electronic documents, and email whenever possible to preserve resources and to provide efficient service to taxpayers and their representatives, local county officials, and taxing authorities. Please enable your email inbox to receive correspondence from the STC. Please check for correspondence sent from the STC in your "junk" or "spam" email boxes. Please ensure that the email address you have provided is correct.

WHO MAY SIGN?

The taxpayer who is the owner of the property may sign the Complaint for Review of Assessment form unless the property is in the name of a legal entity or a trust. Missouri law requires that an attorney <u>must</u> sign the form on behalf of the taxpayer/owner if the taxpayer/owner is a legal entity (for example, a corporation, a LLC, a partnership) OR a trust, association, or estate. NO EXCEPTIONS.

REAL PROPERTY

Real Property (real estate) is identified by parcel or locator number. You must send a copy of the Board of Equalization decision for each property you are appealing the assessment unless you recently purchased the property. If you recently purchased the property, you must include a copy of the closing statement or sales contract with your Complaint for Review of Assessment.

Recently Purchased Property

If you purchased the property within 30 days of the statutory deadline for filing appeals to the Board of Equalization, or later in the year, and you did not have the opportunity to appeal to the Board of Equalization, you will need to send your proof of purchase (sales contract and closing statement) to show that the timing of the purchase did not permit an appeal to the Board of Equalization. Contact the county clerk in the county where your property is located to determine the date when an appeal to the Board of Equalization was due.

Filing Deadlines

ALL COUNTIES

Your Complaint(s) for Review of Assessment must be filed with the State Tax Commission on or before September 30 of the year of assessment or within 30 days of the decision of the Board of Equalization, whichever is later.

Tax Year 2024

Appeals related to property purchased 30 days prior to, or any time after, the date for filing with the Board of Equalization are due on or before December 31 of the year of assessment. Please refer to the paragraph above (Recently Purchased Property) for more information on this situation.

NOTE:

These filing deadlines are set by statute; the State Tax Commission cannot extend them.

All Complaints for Review of Assessment received by email will be deemed filed as of the date the State Tax Commission receives the email containing the form and supporting documentation. All Complaints for Review of Assessment sent by registered, certified or first class mail will be deemed filed as of the date of the postmark. Complaints for Review of Assessment sent by metered mail shall be deemed filed as of the date of post office cancellation.

PERSONAL PROPERTY

Personal Property (vehicles, aircraft, office equipment, etc.) is usually identified by account number and may involve several pieces of property. In that case, attach a list of all personal property referenced by that number.

Example: If you own three vehicles and your account number is ABC123, list the three vehicles – 2002 Chevrolet Tahoe, 2004 Ford Explorer, and 2006 Nissan Sentra – on an attached sheet.

You must file the Complaint form along with a copy of any supporting documents, including a Board of Equalization decision. You must send a copy of the Board of Equalization decision for each assessment unless you did not receive notice of the assessed amount until you received your tax bill or by other means.

Filing Deadlines

ALL COUNTIES

If notice was timely provided, your Complaint(s) for Review of Assessment must be filed with the State Tax Commission on or before September 30 of the year of assessment or within 30 days of the decision of the Board of Equalization, whichever is later.

If you did not get notice of the assessment until you received your tax bill, your Complaint for Review of Assessment is due on or before December 31 of the year of assessment.

NOTE:

These filing deadlines are set by statute; the State Tax Commission cannot extend them.

All Complaints for Review of Assessment received through online filing will be deemed filed as of the date the State Tax Commission's online filing system records the data input by the taxpayer or attorney. All Complaints for Review of Assessment received by email will be deemed filed as of the date the State Tax Commission receives the email containing the form and supporting documentation. All Complaints for Review of Assessment sent by registered, certified, or first class mail will be deemed filed as of the date of the postmark. Complaints for Review of Assessment sent by metered mail shall be deemed filed as of the date of post office cancellation.

If you have questions, please refer to the online pamphlet entitled Property Tax Appeals Before the State Tax Commission of Missouri, which provides basic information concerning your assessment appeal. If you still have questions after you have reviewed the pamphlet, please contact the State Tax Commission at 573-751-1715.

COMPLAINT FOR REVIEW OF ASSESSMENT



State Tax Commission of Missouri Legal@stc.mo.gov

P.O. Box 146, Jefferson City, Missouri 65102-0146

SEE INSTRUCTIONS OR GO TO <u>WWW.STC.MO.GOV</u> FOR MORE INFORMATION

TYPE OR PRINT			
Taxpayer's Name:			
Attorney's Name:		Bar Number:	
Attorney Name Only		Missouri Bar Number Only	
Attorney is required for all corporations, pa	ortnerships, other legal entities, and trusts	14110000111	our realiser office
Contact E-Mail:		Contact Address:	
The e-mail address will be used for all correspondence			
Daytime Phone:	City:	State:	Zip Code:
PROPERTY SUBJECT TO APPEAL			
Locator, Parcel or Account #:	Address of Property:		County Property is Located:
Current Classification of the Property: Agricultural Residential Residential — Apartment / Subsidized housing Commercial Personal Property Business Personal Property — Attach Inventory List			
Board of Equalization Decision Attached (Required unless real property purchased after the BOE deadline)			
Closing Statement Attached (only applicable for property purchased within 30 days of BOE deadline or after)			
Not notified of increase in valuation until tax bill was received on (copy attached)			
GROUNDS FOR APPEAL			
Overvaluation Discrimination			
Misgraded Agricultural Land			
Exemption:			
Religious Charitable Educational Other			
Misclassification – the property should be classified as:			
Residential Agricultural Commercial Mixed-use			
Value set by Assessor	Value set by Board of E	auglization	Taxpayer's Proposed Value
value set by Assessor	value set by board of E	.qualization	Taxpayer 5 Proposed value
Taxpayer or Attorney Signature:			
Attorney is required for all corporations, pa	urtnerships other legal entities and trusts		
According is required for all corporations, pa	mineranipa, ouner regul entitles, und trusts		