The Commission measures the accuracy of assessments in each county and works with assessors to promote an accurate and fair assessment program. It conducts seminars and training sessions for assessors and their staffs. The Commission also hears taxpayers’ appeals from the local Boards of Equalization, and is responsible for the statewide assessment of the property of railroads, airlines, pipelines, electric and telecommunication companies.

The State Tax Commission is an administrative agency under the direction of three commissioners who are appointed by the Governor and approved by the Senate. The Commission is given the responsibility of ensuring the uniform and equitable assessment of all taxable tangible property in the state. To assist the Commission in fulfilling this responsibility, there is a staff of appraisers, technicians, and hearing officers located in Jefferson City and throughout the state.

Our administrative structure is:

  • Administrative Secretary — directs the day-to-day operations of the commission.
    Contact: Sandy Wankum, Administrative Secretary,
  • Legal — includes hearing officers (for appeals), and provides legal support for the commission.
    Contact: Maureen Monaghan, Chief Counsel,
  • Original Assessment — values public utilities, railroads and other property that typically crosses many county boundaries.
    Contact: Rosella Schad, Original Assessment Section,
  • Local Assistance —  provides support to the County Assessors and monitors the level of assessment and assessment uniformity.
    Contact: Jan Elliott, Manager, Local Assistance Section, Jan.Elliott@stc.mo.gov


Contact Information for Main Office STC Employees


Victor Callahan, Commissioner victor.callahan@stc.mo.gov 573-751-1703

Bruce E. Davis, Chairman bruce.davis@stc.mo.gov 573-751-1704

Local Assistance – Reimbursements, assessment process & procedures, ratio studies

Jan Elliott, Mgr. Local Assistance jan.elliott@stc.mo.gov 573-751-1708

Jeff Schmidt, Asst. Mgr. Local Assistance jeff.schmidt@stc.mo.gov 573-751-1726

Larry Hixson, Asst. Mgr. Local Assistance larry.hixson@stc.mo.gov 573-751-1733

Kris Solindas, Local Assistance kris.solindas@stc.mo.gov 573-751-1728

Legal – Appeals, statutes, case law

Maureen Monaghan, Chief Counsel, maureen.monaghan@stc.mo.gov 573-751-1730

Jackie Wood, Legal Coordinator, jackie.wood@stc.mo.gov 573-751-1715

John Treu, Senior Hearing Officer, john.treu@stc.mo.gov 573-751-1712

Amy Westermann, Senior Hearing Officer, amy.westermann@stc.mo.gov,

Original Assessment– Railroads, utilities, airlines, commercial aircraft, rural electrics

Rosella Schad, Original Assessment rosella.schad@stc.mo.gov 573-751-1729

Randy Wright, Original Assessment randy.wright@stc.mo.gov 573-526-6403

Administration – Form 11/11As, legislation, education, annual report

Sandy Wankum, Administrative Secretary sandy.wankum@stc.mo.gov 573-751-1709

Stacey Jacobs, Administration stacey.jacobs@stc.mo.gov 573-751-1716

Melina Scheperle, Administration melina.scheperle@stc.mo.gov 573-751-1724

Andrea Bondurant, Administration andrea.bondurant@stc.mo.gov 573-751-1735


Additional STC Information:

2016-2020 State Tax Commission Strategic Plan